In order to obtain a firearm, you must meet eligibility requirements and comply with the statutes, which govern firearms purchases in the State of New Jersey. All firearms applications for residents of Pompton Lakes are handled through the police department's Records Bureau. If you need guidance with the application process or have questions, please call 973-616-5916.
Firearms Application Process & Requirements
For Iniital Identification Cards, Duplicate Identification Cards, Change of Address, Purchase Permits:
The State of New Jersey has begun to utilize an electronic submission format for firearms applications and now completed online. You no longer need to complete the forms and bring them to the police department. The process is fully automated thus reducing the length of time in the issuance of your permits.
Pompton Lakes Police Department ORI# NJ0160900
- To apply for a Firearms ID Card and/or a Permit to Purchase, go to https://www.njportal.com/NJSP/fars
- Applicants MUST enter their “Official Name” that is on your driver’s license or state ID.
- Applicants MUST enter an accurate phone number and emails for themselves and references.
- An INITIAL APPLICANT will be able to print out their fingerprint form at the end of the application when directed to do so.
Please print your confirmation page and application at the end of the process for reference in the event of an issue.
Upon the approval of your application by the Chief of Police you will receive an email that your application is approved and at that time you can pick up your ID card and/or Purchase Permits. Please do not call before receiving that email.
$50.00 - Firearms Identification Card - The ID card is good for as long as you remain eligible to own a firearm in the State of New Jersey and reside at the same address.
$25.00 - Handgun Purchase Permit (each) - You will need one permit for each handgun you wish to purchase. Pistol permits are initially valid for ninety days and may be renewed for an additional ninety days prior to the expiration of the initial 90 day period.
This fee is payable to Borough of Pompton Lakes and may be either a cash, check or money order.
Permit to Carry
Follow the instructions on the New Jersey State Police Firearms webpage.
To review the Updated Civilian Carry Assessment and Range Evaluation (CCARE) Protocol letter see link below: