Flood Advisory Board


The Board assists Pompton Lakes' Municipal government on flood-related matters, and pursues means of mitigating flooding within the Borough. Recent activities includes an ongoing field assessment of river conditions, recommendations on priorities for clearing those obstructions, support of legislation aimed at relief from flooding, and involvement in the usage of land adjacent to or near flood zones.  The Board oversees the Lake Restoration Committee and Stormwater Management Committee. 

CRS Rating

The Borough CRS Coordinators work in conjunction with various Borough agencies to maintain a Class 5 CRS rating for the Borough. This achievement has resulted in up to a 25% savings in flood insurance premiums. Pompton Lakes was the first community in the State of New Jersey as well as the Northeast to receive a Class 5 CRS rating.

Letter to Residents

Read the Flood Advisory Board's Letter to Residents (PDF).

2020 Flood Insurance Rate Maps

To access to 2020 Flood Maps, follow the link below, search by state/ county/ municipality and select "Pending Products".  

Flood Risk and Insurance Public Information Presentations 

Revised Flood Insurance Study and Flood Maps presentation February 27, 2020
Flood Insurance Studies and Insurance Rate Maps-March 25, 2021

2018 River Hazard Assessment

View the Presentation of the results of our 2018 River Hazard Assessment


  • 7:30 p.m.
  • 4th Thursday of every month
  • Council Chambers
    25 Lenox Avenue
    Pompton Lakes, NJ 07442

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Flood Advisory Board consists of 10 members appointed by the Mayor. 

Related Documents

  • Lisa Kihlberg, Liaison/Member ~ One Year Term expires December 31, 2024
  • Lauren Venin, Chairperson
     Three year term expires December 31, 2026
  • Josephine Brown 
     Three year term expires December 31, 2025
  • Lauren Simpson
     Three year term expires December 31, 2025
  • Julie Doncoes  
     Three year term expires December 31, 2025
  • Steve Flormann
     Three year term expires December 31, 2024

  • Kathleen Cole  
     Three year term expires December 31, 2026
  • Harold Vandermark III
     Three year term expires December 31, 2024
  •  Pat Lenoy 
     Three year term expires December 31, 2024
  •  Cristiane Jennings    
     Three year term expires December 31, 2026